• Date & Time in India 15 Jun 2024 05:35 AM
  • -A +A
Menu Access

Constitution & Mandate

With an aim to promote Medical Value Travel in India, the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare has constituted a Medical Value Travel Council.

To work towards achieving the mission of “Advantage Healthcare India” on an accelerated pace, two sub-committees namely i) Governing Body and ii) Executive Board have been constituted under the aegis of the Council.

The Governing Body is entrusted with the responsibility of decision/policymaking whereas the Executive Board will be responsible for effective and timely execution of the decisions outlined, recommended, and adopted by the Governing Body.

The Governing Body is chaired by the Secretary (Health) and convened by the Joint Secretary (Health), Government of India including representatives & members from Line Ministries viz. Ministry of Tourism, Ministry of Civil Aviation, Ministry of External Affairs, etc. and Industry Associations.

The Executive Board is chaired by the Joint Secretary (Health) and convened by Director (Health), Government of lndia including representation from the MVT Industry. The Board shall function under the guidance of the Governing Body.

Governing Body


S.No. Designation / Organization Affiliation
1. Secretary, Health & Family Welfare Chair
2. Secretary, Ministry of Tourism Co-Chair
3. Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation Member
4. Secretary, Ministry of AYUSH Member
5. Foreign Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs Member
6. Chairman, Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority (IRDAI) Member
7. Director, AIIMS, New Delhi Member
8. Secretary General, Quality Council of India Member
9. Managing Director & CEO, Invest India Member
10. Secretary (Health & FW), Delhi Member
11. Principal Secretary (Health & FW), Telangana Member
12. Additional Chief Secretary (Health), Kerala Member
13. Principal Secretary (Public Health Department), Maharashtra Member
14. Commissioner & Principal Secretary (Public Health & Family Welfare), Gujarat Member
15. Additional Secretary, Tourism Member
16. CEO, National Accreditation Board of Hospitals & Healthcare Providers (NABH) Member
17. Joint Secretary (Regulation), MoHFW Member
18. Joint Secretary (Medical Education), MoHFW Member
19. Joint Secretary, AYUSH Member – TBD by Secretary, M/o AYUSH
20. Joint Secretary, MEA Member – TBD by Secretary, MEA
21. Joint Secretary, MHA Member – TBD by Secretary, MHA
22. Joint Secretary, Commerce Member – TBD by Secretary, D/o Commerce
23. Joint Secretary, Tourism Member – TBD by Secretary, M/o Tourism
24. President, Indian Association of Tour Groups Member
25. National President, Indian Medical Association Member
26. Secretary, IMA Member
27. AYUSH Member – TBD by Secretary (H)
28. Allopathy Member – TBD by Secretary (Health)
29. --- Member – TBD by Secretary (Health )
30. --- Member – TBD by Secretary (Health)
31. Director/President, PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PHDCCI) Member
32. President, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) Member
33. FICCI, Senior Director, FICCI Member
34. Joint Secretary, Health (MVT) Convener

Executive Board


S.No. Designation / Organization Affiliation
1. Joint Secretary, (MVT) Health Chair
2. Joint Secretary, Tourism Member
3. Joint Secretary, AYUSH Member
4. Joint Secretary, MEA Member
5. Senior Director, FICCI Member
6. Director, (MVT), MoHFW Convener